Shortlists announced for Golden Tracks awards

Golden Tracks logo
European Athletics

Following the voting period for the Golden Tracks European Athlete of the Year and Rising Star awards, the shortlists with the top 3 athletes in each category (alphabetical order) are now confirmed.

European Athletics will announce the winner of each category on the evening of the awards ceremony on Saturday 17 October in Lausanne, Switzerland.

Golden Tracks - Men’s Athlete of the Year 2015 shortlist:

Mo Farah (GBR) acquired his fourth consecutive 5000m and 10,000m double at a major championships when he took both distance running gold medals in Beijing. He also has the fastest 1500m by a European in 2015, and the world’s fastest 3000m, to his name.

Greg Rutherford (GBR) added to his impressive list of major championship gold medals when he won the world title in Beijing with 8.41m, the best jump by a European this year. He also won the 2015 Diamond Race in his event.

Sergey Shubenkov (RUS) the two-time European champion won the 110m hurdles world title in a national record of 12.98, the fastest time by a European this year. He also won at the European Athletics Team Championships, helping Russia regain the title.

Golden Tracks - Women’s Athlete of the Year 2015 shortlist:

Jessica Ennis-Hill (GBR) made an outstanding comeback following injury and pregnancy, the London 2012 Olympic Games gold medallist regained the heptathlon world title she had previously won in 2009.

Dafne Schippers (NED) won the 200m world title in a stunning championship record of 21.63, the fastest time in the world for 17 years, and also won the 100m silver medal in Beijing in 10.81, the fastest time by a European this year.

Anita Wlodarczyk (POL) was unbeaten during the year and threw a championship record of 80.85m to regain the hammer world title at the IAAF World Championships in Beijing, as well as throwing a world record of 81.08m earlier in August.

Golden Tracks - Men’s Rising Star 2015 shortlist:

Konrad Bukowiecki (POL) the dominant junior shot putter in the world this year, the 18-year-old reached 22.62m to win the European junior title, a distance only two other juniors have ever reached, and set a world junior best of 20.78m with the senior implement.

Zharnel Hughes (GBR) the 20-year-old sprinter finished fifth in the IAAF World Championships 200m, running 20.02 for third place on the European under 23 all-time list and he also was the second fastest European of any age in 2015.

Niklas Kaul (GER) an all-round talent, the 17-year-old won the decathlon at the IAAF World Youth Championships in a championship record and world best performance of 8002 points, and he also took the silver medal in the javelin.

Golden Tracks - Women’s Rising Star 2015 shortlist:

Dina Asher-Smith (GBR) the 19-year-old finished second in the European indoor 60m, and outdoors she was the fastest European under 23 over 100m and 200m, running 10.99 for the shorter sprint and finishing fifth in the IAAF World Championships 200m in 22.07.

Alexandra Tavernier (FRA) the former world junior champion is still only 21 and won the European U23 hammer title with a championships record in Tallinn, then took the bronze medal at the IAAF World Championships, throwing a personal best of 74.39m in the qualifying rounds.

Noemi Zbären (SUI) was outstanding in the European Athletics U23 Championships 100m hurdles final and won in a personal best of 12.71, the 21-year-old former European junior champion then went on to finish sixth at the IAAF World Championships.

The winning athletes are decided by counting votes from the fans, media, European Athletics Member Federations as well as an expert European Athletics panel, with the results from each group of voters counting for one quarter of the athlete's final score.

On the same evening of the Golden Tracks, European Athletics will also recognise the winners of the Women Leaders Awards. Each of European Athletics’ 50 Member Federations is asked to identify one winner for her work and accomplishments as a coach, or volunteer, or administrator, or elected official … anything other than for success in competition. The main criterion is “a significant contribution that serves as an example of leadership and other values of the sport of athletics”.

The European Athletics Coaching Awards, meanwhile, will distinguish the invaluable contributions made by coaches at all levels to the sport of athletics.