49 to receive European Athletics Coaching Awards

European Athletics Awards Night
Getty Images

Representing all 49 winners of the 2013 Coaching Awards at the European Athletics Awards Night in Tallinn were Toomas Merila and Milvi Viss of Estonia and Bo Berndtsson of Norway.

European Athletics has named a total of 49 coaches to receive its 2013 European Athletics Coaching Awards. 

The winners, who come from 26 countries, were honoured at the recent European Athletics Awards Night in Tallinn, Estonia.

Bo Berndtsson of Norway was selected by draw to join Estonia’s Milvi Viss and Toomas Merila in receiving the first of this year’s awards on behalf of all the winners from European Athletics President Hansjörg Wirz.

The remainder of the winners will receive their awards in national ceremonies organised by their federations.

“I congratulate Bo, Milvi and Toomas and all the winners of this year’s awards,” said President Wirz. “They are examples for coaches across Europe."

The awards consist of a certificate and a European Athletics silver pin.

Each Member Federation can nominate one male and one female coach per year for the award based on the criteria “excellence in coaching”. Twenty-three federations nominated coaches this year. In addition, coaches whose athletes win a gold medal in a senior European Athletics Championship automatically receive the award.

A list of this year’s winners can be found here.

To date a total of 208 coaches have been given the awards, which were started in 2010.

For more information, click the Coaches Awards link on the top right of this page.