Women Leaders

Maryia Badzich
Getty Images

Belarus' Maryia Badzich was presented with the Women's Leadership Award at the 2019 Golden Tracks award ceremony in Tallinn, Estonia

The Women's Leadership Award was launched in 2009 to recognise outstanding women's leaders in athletics and to further promote gender equity in the sport and is awarded every two years at the European Athletics Convention.

Each Member Federations is asked to identify one candidate for their work or accomplishments as a coach, volunteer, administrator, elected official or any other significant role away from the field of play.

The main criterion for nomination is “a significant contribution that serves as an example of leadership and other values of the sport of athletics.”

In 2019, 17 women representing 17 Member Federations were recognised for their contributions to athletics and the first to receive their Women's Leadership Award was Maryia Badzich from Belarus who was presented with her prize and artwork during last year's Golden Tracks award ceremony.

The remaining winners received their awards and artwork prizes in local ceremonies organised by their national Member Federations. 

2019 Women's Leadership Award recipients

Maryia Badzich, Belarus
Fadila Mešak, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Eleni Georgiou, Cyprus
Helena Fibingerová, Czech Republic
Elisa Hakanen, Finland
Anne Tournier-Lasserve, France
Katalin Czeglédi, Hungary
Gudlaug Baldvinsdottir, Iceland
Brid Golden, Ireland
Anna Riccardi, Italy
Ilze Stukule, Latvia
Marjan Olyslager, Netherlands
Silvia Hanusova, Slovakia
Stina Funke, Sweden
Andrea Schneider, Switzerland
Yeliz Ay Yıldız, Turkey
Maryna Filatova, Ukraine 

The next Women's Leadership Awards will be made in 2021.