Dasaolu earns Zurich place as Farah goes for a treble

Dasaolu earns Zurich place as Farah goes for a treble
Getty Images

Great Britain's James Dasaolu anchoring the 4x100m relay at the 2013 European Athletics Team Championships in Gateshead.

James Dasaolu, the fastest man in Europe in 2013, has been selected to run for Great Britain at the European Athletics Championships in Zurich next month.

Dasaolu has competed only twice this summer after recovering from injury but his presence adds even more spice to what will surely be a fascinating 100m where France’s Christophe Lemaitre will, if he chooses to compete at the distance, be chasing a hat-trick of titles.

He will not be the only one seeking a third successive crown on the track as Mo Farah looks for that landmark in the 5000m, while also running in the 10,000m. It was at the European Athletics Championships in Barcelona in 2010 where he achieved that double, the foundation for succeeding at both events at the Olympics and World Championships in the years that followed.

In the women’s 400m, Christine Ohuruogu, the Olympic, double World and Commonwealth champion, will look to complete the set of major honours, and in the 400m hurdles, Dai Greene, the 2011 World champion, is named after overcoming injury problems. Both, though, still need to achieve the British Athletics qualifying time by 3 August to confirm their spots on the team.

Dasaolu’s 9.91 last year was the second quickest in history by a Briton but this summer, the country’s rankings are led by new young star Chijindu Ujah.

But Ujah, 20, failed to finish in the top two at the trials as Dwain Chambers and Harry Aikines-Aryeetey guaranteed themselves the first two places under the automatic rules.

Ujaha was third but that final place in the squad is at the discretion of the selectors and though Dasaolu had not even run until this month, his 10.03 to win the 'B' race at the IAAF Diamond League in Lausanne was repeated last Friday in Glasgow where he was fourth in the main 100m, with Aikines-Aryeetey 7th in 10.21. Ujah is in the 4x100m relay squad.

Ohuruogu first won the 400m world title in Osaka in 2007, bridging a gap of six years when she retained it last summer in Moscow in a career topped by her Olympic glory in Beijing in 2008. She has run 53.14 but has to run 52.00 to make the team.

Greene has been given the third place in the 400m hurdles squad as long as he achieves 49.80. He has run 49.89 and if he does not produce that time, his place will go to the defending champion, Rhys Williams, who has 48.95, but was only fourth at the trials.

British Athletics Performance Director Neil Black said:  "I was really happy to use the clause which allows us to create more time for people we believe are realistic medal contenders for Zurich."

The Great Britain & Northern Ireland team for the European Athletics Championships in Zurich from 12-17 August is:


100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Dwain Chambers, James Dasaolu; 200m: James Ellington, Adam Gemili, Daniel Talbot; 400m: Matthew Hudson-Smith, Martyn Rooney, Conrad Williams; 800m: Andrew Osagie, Michael Rimmer; 1500m: Charlie Grice, Chris O’Hare, Jake Wightman; 5000m: Mo Farah, Tom Farrell, Andy Vernon; 10,000m: Mo Farah, Chris Thompson, Andy Vernon; 3000ms/c: James Wilkinson; 110mh: William Sharman, Lawrence Clarke, Andy Turner; 400mh: Niall Flannery, Tom Burton, Dai Greene/Rhys Williams; High Jump: Chris Baker; Long Jump: JJ Jegede, Greg Rutherford, Chris Tomlinson; Triple Jump: Phillips Idowu, Julian Reid; Pole Vault: Steve Lewis, Luke Cutts, Jax Thoirs; Decathlon: Ashley Bryant; 20km Walk: Tom Bosworth; 4 x 100m: Aikines-Aryeetey, Chambers, Dasaolu, Ellington, Talbot, Gemili, Richard Kilty, Chinjindu Ujah; 4 x 400m: Michael Bingham, Hudson-Smith, Nigel Levine, Rooney, Williams, Rabah Yousif.


100m: Asha Philip, Ashleigh Nelson, Desiree Henry; 200m: Dina Asher-Smith, Bianca Williams, Jodie Williams; 400m:

Christine Ohuruogu; 800m: Jessica Judd, Alison Leonard, Lynsey Sharp; 1500m: Hannah England, Laura Muir, Laura Weightman; 5000m: Julia Bleasdale, Emelia Gorecka, Jo Pavey; 10,000m: Jo Pavey, Beth Potter, Julia Bleasdale; 100mh: Tiffany Porter; 400mh: Meghan Beesley, Eilidh Child; High Jump: Morgan Lake; Long Jump: Katarina Johnson-Thompson, Shara Proctor; Hammer: Sophie Hitchon, Javelin: Goldie Sayers; 4 x 100m: Louise Bloor, Henry, Nelson, Anyika Onuora, Sophie Papps, Philip, B Williams, J Williams; 4 x 400m: Margaret Adeoye, Child, Shana Cox, Kelly Massey, Emily Diamond, C Ohuruogu, Victoria Ohuruogu, J Williams.