Storl on an Amsterdam hat-trick mission as part of large German team

David Storl
European Athletics

Storl is back in Amsterdam with the aim of defending his two time European champion title. Will this be third time lucky?

Germany are sending their biggest team since Budapest 1998 to next month’s European Athletics Championships in Amsterdam.

Shot putters David Storl and Christina Schwanitz are the defending European champions in a squad of 104 athletes - 51 men and 53 women.

Storl will be chasing a hat-trick of golds after also winning the crown in Helsinki 2012, while Schwanitz moved to the top of the European Athletics rankings last Sunday with victory at the national championships in Kassel (19.49m).

Their team also includes javelin world champion Katharina Molitor and 2013 pole vault world champion Raphael Holzdeppe.

It is an exciting mix of experience and youth - with 19-year-old Gina Luckenkemper, one of the leading youngsters in the sport. She won the European junior 200m title in Eskilstuna last summer and this year she is third on the European Athletics rankings with 22.67 in an outdoor season where she has lowered her 100m personal best from 11.25 to 11.13.

Gina Luckenkemper won 200m gold at the 2015 European Athletics Junior Championships with a time of 22.41.
Gina Luckenkemper won 200m gold at the 2015 European Athletics Junior Championships with a time of 22.41.

The javelin is one event where Germany will be looking to make the podium in both the men's and women's competition.

In the men’s, Thomas Röhler is having a wonderful season, with the three best throws in the world this year, topped by his 89.30m from Oslo earlier this month.

Such is the strength of the German women javelin throwers that there is no place on the team for Christina Obergföll, the 2013 world champion and double European silver medallist.

Their trio is led by Christin Hussong, the European under-23 champion, who won last weekend’s national championships with the second best throw in the world this year, a personal best and national under-23 record of 66.41m, and she is joined by Molitor, the world champion from Beijing, and 2010 European champion Linda Stahl.

The selection is based on the 1-2-3 from the championships.

Gesa Felicitas Krause (9:22.33) is European No. 1 at the women’s 3000m steeplechase and Homiyu Tesfaye (3:35.05) is Europe’s fastest man over 1500m - though he was beaten in the trials by Timo Benitz, who joins him in the team for the championships in what could be a superb private duel.

Idriss Gonschinska, head coach of the German Athletic Federation, said: "The 104 athletes we have nominated is the biggest team since 1998 (and) consists of young, less experienced and established athletes. The European Athletics Championships offers the opportunity for less experienced athletes to gain knowledge of the international level and to develop their competitive skills.”


100m: Julian Reus, Lucas Jakubczyk.

200m: Reus, Aleixo Platini Menga, Robin Erewa.

4x100 m: Reus, Jakubczyk, Robert Hering, Sven Knipphals, Robert Polkowski, Roy Schmidt.

400m: Alexander Gladitz, Johannes Trefz.

4x400m: Gladitz, Johannes Trefz, Patrick Schneider, Kamghe Gaba, Marc Koch, Constantin Schmidt.

800m: Soren Ludolph, Benedikt Huber.

1500m: Homiyu Tesfaye, Timo Benitz.

5000m: Florian Orth, Richard Ringer, Martin Sperlich.

Half Marathon: Arne Gabius, Manuel Stockert, Hendrik Pfeiffer, Jens Nerkamp, Julian Flugel, Philip Pflieger.

110m hurdles: Alexander John, Gregor Traber, Matthias Buhler.

400m hurdles: Tobias Giehl, Felix Franz.

High Jump: Eike Onnen.

Pole Vault: Tobias Scherbarth, Karsten Dilla, Raphael Holzdeppe.

Long Jump: Alyn Camara, Fabian Heinle.

Triple Jump: Max Hess, Martin Jasper.

Shot Put: David Storl, Tobias Dahm.

Discus: Christoph Harting, Daniel Jasinski, Martin Wierig.

Javelin: Thomas Rohler, Johannes Vetter, Lars Hamann.

Decathlon: Mathias Brugger, Tim Nowak, Rene Stauss.



100m: Tatjana Pinto, Rebekka Haase.

200m: Gina Luckenkemper, Lisa Mayer, Nadine Gonska.

4x100m: Pinto, Haase, Yasmin Kwadwo, Janina Kolsch, Alexandra Burghardt.

400m: Ruth Sophia Spelmeyer.

4x400m: Spelmeyer, Friederike Mohlenkamp, Laura Muller, Lara Hoffmann, Daniela Ferenz.

800m: Christina Hering, Fabienne Kohlmann.

1500m: Maren Kock.

5000m: Kock, Fate Tola Geleto*.

10,000m: Sabrina Mockenhaupt.

Half marathon: Anja Scherl, Franziska Reng, Katharina Heinig, Anna Hahner, Isabell Teegen, Melina Trankle.

100m hurdles: Cindy Roleder, Nadine Hildebrand, Pamela Dutkiewicz.

400m hurdles: Jackie Baumann.

3000m steeplechase: Gesa Felicitas Krause, Maja Rehberg, Jana Sussmann.

High Jump: Marie-Laurence Jungfleisch.

Pole Vault: Martina Strutz, Lisa Ryzih, Annika Roloff.

Long Jump: Alexandra Wester, Malaika Mihambo, Nadja Kather.

Triple Jump: Jenny Elbe, Kristin Gierisch.

Shot Put: Christina Schwanitz, Lena Urbaniak, Sara Gambetta.

Discus: Nadine Muller, Julia Fischer, Shanice Craft.

Hammer: Betty Heidler, Kathrin Klaas, Charlene Woitha,

Javelin: Christin Hussong, Katharina Molitor, Linda Stahl.

Heptathlon: Anna Maiwald.

*=Waiting to receive international clearance by the IAAF by 27 June.