Final entries available for SPAR European Cross Country Championships

Tilburg 2018 SPAR European Cross Country Championships
Getty Images

The final entries for the SPAR European Cross Country Championships in Lisbon on 8 December have been published and can be viewed here or under Related Documents.

A total of 602 athletes represented 40 countries - including Russian athletes competing as Authorised Neutral Athletes - have been declared across the seven races. The men’s U20 race has the biggest number of entrants on the programme with 115 athletes from 29 countries due to take part.

The entry-lists feature all six reigning individual champions from Tilburg in 2018: Norway’s Jakob Ingebrigtsen and Italy’s Nadia Battocletti in the U20 races, Denmark’s Anna Emilie Moller and France’s Jimmy Gressier in the U23 races and Norway’s Filip Ingebrigtsen and Turkey’s Yasemin Can in the senior races.

Norway topped the medal table in Tilburg courtesy of the exploits of the Ingebrigtsen brothers - Jakob also led Norway to the team title in the U20 race - but Jakob and Filip are yet to fully decide if they will compete in Lisbon.

France’s Jimmy Gressier will be aiming to win his third successive gold medals in both the individual and team race in the U23 category while Turkey’s Yasemin Can, who missed the majority of the track season due to injury, is targeting a fourth successive title in the senior women’s race.

The senior women’s race also features Ireland’s former two-time winner Fionnuala McCormack who is making her 16th appearance at the European Cross Country Championships - a record for a female athlete at the championships.

The entry-list also features three reigning gold medallists from the Gavle 2019 European Athletics U23 Championships - Ignacio Fontes (1500m), Gressier (5000/10,000m) and Moller (3000m steeplechase/5000m) and six gold medallists from the Boras 2019 European Athletics U20 Championships - Nuno Pereira (1500m), Elias Schreml (3000m), Delia Sclabas (1500m), Zofia Dudek (3000m), Klara Lukan (5000m) and Paula Schneiders (3000m steeplechase).

Twelve teams have also entered the mixed relay including reigning champions Spain and inaugural winners in 2017 Great Britain & NI.