Getty Images

Geoff Wightman and Gavin Lightwood representing the #clickyourclock project, were named winners of the 10th European Athletics Innovation Award in Funchal, Portugal. They were presented the award by European Athletics Vice-President Jean Gracia, in charge of Member Federation Development.

European Athletics invites scientists, academics, students and others who have completed work contributing to the development of one or more aspects of athletics to enter their projects in the the European Athletics Innovation Awards.

The biennial competition, which was established in 1998, offers awards in five categories and a CHF 20,000 prize fund. The categories included are: coaching, promotion, technology, sustainability and an open category.

Entries are judged for their quality and relevance to athletics by an expert panel. The author of the top project in each category receives CHF 2000 and advances to the final round.

The panel, which is led by European Athletics Vice-President Jean Gracia, selects the overall winner for its importance to the development of athletics.

A CHF 10,000 first prize is presented to the overall winner during the European Athletics Convention during the Golden Tracks award ceremony.

The winning entry in 2018 was submitted by Antonio Sanchez Pato and Emanuele Isidori and was entitled: “An Innovative European Sports Tutorship Model Of The Dual Career Of Students.”

The next Innovation Awards will be in 2020.