Mayer and Calvin voted French Athletes of the Year

Kevin Mayer
Getty Images

Kevin Mayer won the heptathlon title at the IAAF World Indoor Championships in Birmingham before setting a world decathlon record of 9126 points in Talence

World decathlon record-holder Kevin Mayer was voted male French Athlete of the Year for the second time in three years with an overwhelming 52.5 percent of the vote share.

Mayer, who also won the world indoor heptathlon title in Birmingham last March, finished ahead of European U23 cross country champion Jimmy Gressier and last year’s winner Pierre Ambroise Bosse who received 8.2 and 7.7 percent of the vote respectively.

“It is always great to be voted Athlete of the Year especially because there are big results this year with medals at the European Championships in Berlin where I messed up. People have highlighted my world record. The general public have started to get interested in the multi-events but I am not satisfied just yet. I always hope to get more results so the decathlon is always in the spotlight,” he said.

The women’s category was decidedly more closely contested with European marathon silver medallist Clemence Calvin voted female French Athlete of the Year ahead of European 800m silver medallist Renelle Lamote - 28.3 to 27.2 percent.

“This result is a wonderful recognition from the athletics family. I was pretty proud when I learnt about it especially because the vote was organised by the federation,” said Calvin, who was contesting her first ever marathon at the European Championships in Berlin.

Mayer, who is currently training in the United States, is planning a low-key indoor season which started with a solid 5.14m clearance in the pole vault in Miramas while Calvin is building up to the Paris Marathon on 14 April.

France won a double in the 2000m steeplechase at the European Athletics U18 Championships in Gyor and gold medallists Baptiste Guyon and Lena Lebrun were voted male and female French Junior Athletes of the Year with 21.5 and 18.5 percent of the vote respectively.

The gold medal-winning U23 team from the SPAR European Cross Country Championships in Tilburg which was led by Jimmy Gressier was also named Team of the Year.

More than 13,000 votes for the awards were cast on the French Athletics Federation website and 96,000 votes were cast across social media.