President Hansen congratulates European medallists at the World Championships

European Athletics President Svein Arne Hansen
Getty Images

European Athletics President Svein Arne Hansen at the 2019 Congress in Prague

As the lights went out above the Khalifa International Stadium and the IAAF World Athletics Championships Doha 2019 came to an end, European Athletics President Svein Arne Hansen offered his congratulations to all the European medallists and especially those that triumphed in Qatar over the ten days of competition.

“It has been a splendid World Championships and, in so many respects, sets the bar very high for when the IAAF World Athletics Championships will return to Europe, with Budapest being the host in 2023,” said Hansen.

“On behalf of European Athletics, I would like to congratulate all those European athletes who achieved a place on the podium here in Doha, and especially those 10 athletes that triumphed and can rightfully call themselves the best in the world at their events.

“We have seen four European records and no less than 34 national records set here by athletes from our 51 Member Federations as well as many, many personal bests.

“This embodies the true spirit of athletics. It is not always possible to win but you can strive to be the best that you can, and European athletes have shown that they can rise to the occasion time and time again in Doha.

“I look forward to seeing many of our winners and other medallists here compete at our continent’s most important athletics event, at the Paris 2020 European Athletics Championships next summer.

“But first we have the Golden Tracks award ceremony in Tallinn in three weeks’ time on Saturday 26 October and all the European gold medallists here have been invited to attend that glittering occasion where the male and female European Athlete of the Year and Rising Stars of the Year will be named,” he added.

European gold medallists at the IAAF World Athletics Championships Doha 2019

Karsten Warholm (NOR, 400m hurdles)
Daniel Stahl (SWE, discus)
Pawel Fajdek (POL, hammer)
Niklas Kaul (GER, decathlon)

Dina Asher-Smith (GBR, 200m)
Sifan Hassan (NED, 1500m & 10,000m)
Mariya Lasitskene (ANA/RUS, high jump)
Malaika Mihambo (GER, long jump)
Anzhelika Sidorova (ANA/RUS, pole vault)
Katarina Johnson-Thompson (GBR, heptathlon)