The President

European Athletics President Svein Arne Hansen
European Athletics

Svein Arne Hansen of Norway became the 5th President of European Athletics at the Bled Congress on April 11 2015.

Hansen, born on 6 May 1946, is a stamp dealer by profession and the owner of S.A. Hansen SA. His Sports Administration career began as a Member of the Norwegian Athletics Federation Junior Committee between 1968 and 1972.

He was Assistant Meeting Director of the Bislett Games from 1973 to 1984 before serving as Meeting Director of the legendary one-day meeting for 24 years. In that time the Bislett Games was part of the IAAF Grand Prix, Golden Four, Golden League and now Diamond League.

Hansen was a member of the IAAF Grand Prix Commission from 1985 to 1998 and a Member of the IAAF Golden League working group from 1997 to 2009.

He also served as President of Euro-Meetings from 1998 to 2006.

Hansen was Vice President of the Norwegian Athletics Federation from 2001 to 2003 and President of the Federation from 2003 to 2015.

He previously served as Vice President of European Athletics from 2007 to 2011 as part of the Executive Board, being Chairman of the European Athletics Development Committee during that period.

Hansen follows Hansjörg Wirz as President, the Swiss who served from 1999 to 2015. Finland’s Carl-Olaf Homen served from 1987 to 1999, Arthur Gold of the United Kingdom from 1976 to 1987 and Adriaan Paulen of the Netherlands from 1969 to 1976.